cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Need help navigating or using the PTC Community? Contact the community team. X

Promotion preference manager, promotion notice objects, and their work-flows

gchampoux
1-Newbie

Promotion preference manager, promotion notice objects, and their work-flows

I'm still learning and configuring Intralink 9.1, and have some confusion about how the workflow is determined during a promotion.

The Promotion Preference Manager allows me to define which workflows are available.
However, a workflow can be assigned to the lifecycle phase/gate of a promotions request (wt.maturity.PromotionNotice).
This seems redundant or contradictory.
Can anyone explain the difference?

I copied the life cycle "Promotion Request" and assigned the workflow "Promotion Request Approval Process" as the <u>Phase Process</u> for the first phase (Open). In my site OIR's I assigned this new lifecycle to wt.maturity.PromotionNotice.

When a promotion occurs, the user is being prompted to select a workflow (defined in the Promotion Preference Manage).
Shouldn't the workflow of the promotion request's lifecyle be used automatically (without any prompt)?

What am I missing?

Gerry

6 REPLIES 6

Promotion is unique in that it is often desirable to have a different workflow process run depending on the target state. For this reason, it does not use a mapping from a lifecycle state to a workflow process.