cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - When posting, your subject should be specific and summarize your question. Here are some additional tips on asking a great question. X

Recommended way/structure to organize CAD files (assemblies, parts, drawings)?

BW_10112401
4-Participant

Recommended way/structure to organize CAD files (assemblies, parts, drawings)?

I'm new to using Windchill so I apologize for the dopey question.

I have a lot of old assemblies and parts that I need to add to Windchill (say 50 assemblies each composed of 20 parts, so ~1000 files). They are currently organized (not on Windchill) using folder names, where each component has its own folder at the same level. For example, folder "blah" would contain the assembly and parts for component "blah".

Since I don't have permission to add folders, I reached out and was told it's not good to organize things like that in Windchill and I should just put everything in the same folder. Not having various folders to organize components seems like it would make it difficult to locate components if they aren't named in a descriptive name (which they aren't, and I don't want to change the filenames). So if I have all the files in a single folder, rather than separated by folders with descriptive names, how will the next new person know what assemblies are what? Is there a way to link a document that maps a descriptive name to an assembly?

Basically I'm struggling with how someone in the future will be able to easily navigate to what they want if I'm not using descriptive folder names like is commonly done in filesystems. Any advice or suggestions is greatly appreciated!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
TomU
23-Emerald IV
(To:BW_10112401)