cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you know you can set a signature that will be added to all your posts? Set it here! X

Rename number option greyed out - modify identity?

ptc-2734082
1-Newbie

Rename number option greyed out - modify identity?

I am a mechanical engineer and working with the system administrator to implement Windchill 10 at our company.

Once a part is checked-in, we would like the ability to rename the "number" in the system. We often start a new product with names like "block" and "screw". Once a product moves into to the quote stage, individual parts are given company part numbers. Is seems that once a part is in Whindchill we can not rename the "name" of the part. This option is greyed out. The work around that we are currently using is to do a save-as.

From reading the help files it seems that we need to grant the Modify Identity Permission, but out sys admin does not have this option.

Any help would be greatly apreciated!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

We discovered the solution to the problem. It required editing a .XML and loading it into windchill. Apparently the default setting prevents allowing this parameter from being edited. We needed to remove the setting in the .XML file. Why PTC does this...I have no idea.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
mspencer
5-Regular Member
(To:ptc-2734082)

It should be there...but may depend on how your system is setup and where your access policies are defined. Ours are setup in the Product level, but they could also be pushed down from the organization or site level. Are you at the product -> Utilities -> Policy Administration. You can drill down from the organizations and view the policies from there. Depending on your access level, you can also see if they are inherited from the orgainization level. hope that helps.

Max,