Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

UpgradeManager Oracle Query help

Participant

UpgradeManager Oracle Query help

One of the migrators in 9.0 M030 is taking 7 hours to delete some records. I can see the Query it is trying to run, and have written an alternative that takes about a minute to complete. I'm not an Oracle expert, but was able to find the problem and an alternative using Google. The migrator still took almost 7 hours even with the records already deleted.

Any suggestions for helping out ptc's query from the Oracle side?

maybe creating an index that might help, or telling Oracle to run my query if they see PTC's?

Their query:
DELETE FROM WTAclEntry WHERE classnamekeyA3='wt.org.WTGroup' AND idA3A3 NOT IN (SELECT idA2A2 FROM WTGroup WHERE ((disabled=0) OR (disabled IS NULL)))

My query:
DELETE FROM WTAclEntry wta WHERE classnamekeyA3='wt.org.WTGroup' and not exists (SELECT idA2A2 FROM WTGroup wtg WHERE ( ( (wtg.disabled=0) or ( wtg.disabled is null) ) and wtg.ida2a2 = wta.ida3a3))

Oracle says something like full table scan for both tables in ptc's query.
We have some 1,292,963 wtgroup entries in the WTAclEntry table.
There are some 17,903 WTAclEntry table records that are for disabled groups.

-=wes

Wes Tucker
Software Engineer
-
_____

PELCO * 3500 Pelco Way * Clovis * CA * 93612-5699

- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------