cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

We are happy to announce the new Windchill Customization board! Learn more.

What is the necessary info you must have before creating an additional Organization?

Pieter_Du_Toit
11-Garnet

What is the necessary info you must have before creating an additional Organization?

Hi,

I am completely new to this and not really sure where to start. I am also not really able to find a How To guide apart from the odd 6 min video.

The setup will be as follow: Company A bought company B and company B will now become the new additional organization. Company A must be able to see company B's data but not the other way around.

I am not sure yet whether there will be made use of only one server since the companies are located in different regions of the country.

What is all the info/requirements that I need to know before creating an additional organization.

Appreciate the help.

Regards

10 REPLIES 10

Why do you want to create a separate Organization for them?

We purchased a company a few years ago.  All we did was get them in to our existing setup.  We didn't create a separate organization for them.

You could also create a separate Context in your current organization.

I agree different Contexts might be a better idea, though it might require re-looking at policy permissions especially if they are set up at org level, but long term it is easier, especially at the point when business decides they want to start collaborating. Just setup the product with specific permissions, and OIR, and then save one as a template for reuse.

Thanks, also think contexts will be the better option.

However, if the the organizations use different ways of working (life cycle, work flows, etc.), is it still possible to manage on context level or should one then rather think of creating an org?

Appreciate you help.