cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

We are happy to announce the new Windchill Customization board! Learn more.

Windchill Profiles best practices and Documentation

LawrenceS
18-Opal

Windchill Profiles best practices and Documentation

I am fairly new to customized company Standard Profiles (and license profiles), but have been learning how important they are, and how many issues arise, esp. in WC12.  

• Does anyone know if and where there is the documentation for the different categories that are listed?
    • Some of them are self-explanatory, while others are not, especially if I am not familiar with newer functionality, or the extent of the things it can affect, or if it is just ambiguous. 
    • E.g. "Remove" (which remove?), "Use Creo Data Management & Visualization WGMs", "Move Choice", "Windchill PDF Collaboration", "override name", etc
    • Note I did look in the WC Help, searched some of the terms (with and without quotes) and didn't find documentation on these categories.
  • Based on your experience and knowledge, what are some best practices working with Profiles in WC?  Brainstorming some examples
    • Do you give full access when in doubt then remove as necessary?
    • Profile conflicts?
    • By what do you group profiles (job function, department, functionality, etc)?
    • Permissions control (Profiles, groups, teams, team admin, UAC/Policy Admin, etc)?

"When you reward an activity, you get more of it!"
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
TomU
23-Emerald IV
(To:LawrenceS)

A few comments.

1.)  As a general rule, standard profiles turn off visibility for actions the user already has rights to perform.

• Standard profiles do not prevent actions from being completed, they just prevent the button and/or command from being displayed in the user interface.