cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

We are happy to announce the new Windchill Customization board! Learn more.

Windchill workflow activity rename

vedderkris
1-Newbie

Windchill workflow activity rename

I'm in Workflow Administrator (Windchill 9.1) trying to update one of our workflows.  We need to have some of the Activity tasks renamed.  I have edited the name in the General Tab, saved the workflow, checked it back in, imported it, etc.  But when I run the workflow its still using the older Activity task name, even though when I open the workflow it has the new name there.  What am I missing?  Sorry I'm new to editing the workflows?  Is a server restart required?  It seems like a simple thing, yet it's not working?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

We figured it out.  In the Transitions tab, under Start we have some Java code that gets the Activity name to appear with the task name.  The task name is specifically spelled out.  We realized this when we went forward to try to recreate the task.  Someone else added that code for our workflows and we just forgot about it.  Weird, duh moment.  Glad we solved it. Thanks. 

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Is the lifecycle template which calls this workflow template configured with the checkmark in "use latest iteration of workflow?"  If not, then the iteration of workflow called is fixed.

The lifecycle does have the use latest iteration of workflow checked, throughout all states.

The steps you followed should work. Did you initiate a new workflow, say create a new object or set the state of the object to a state that triggers the workflow?  Changes in workflow templates are only applicable for new instances of workflow process not for the existing ones

Kristie Schwartz wrote:

I have edited the name in the General Tab, saved the workflow, checked it back in, imported it, etc.