cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

We are happy to announce the new Windchill Customization board! Learn more.

Workflow creation from scratch (Windchill 11)

vissrx7
4-Participant

Workflow creation from scratch (Windchill 11)

I am trying to figure out how to create a new workflow, including all steps needed to make it appear as a selectable choice from the Actions menu. I am not tryign to do anything fancy since I have never done this before - just tryign to start with something simple. Here is what I am trying to do, specifically:

1. Save a copy of the OOTB Problem Report Template (I did this)

2. Alter the OOTB Change Admin I role to one of our own internal roles (I did this)

3. Start using this new version of the Workflow (this is where I am stuck)

Basically, though I have created a new template, let's call it "Problem Report Template 2," I have no understanding of how to launch it throughout Windchill.

- It does not show up as a Problem Report in the Type and Attribute List.

- I don't see Problem Report Template 2 anywhere else in Windchill other than the Workflow Template Admin screen

- Do I need to restart Windchill or something??

I have searched many pages of documentation and forum discussions, and I think the nature of my problem is almost too simple to cover! At least hopefully that is the case. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Pete 

7 REPLIES 7

You need to create the following:

• A soft type under Problem Report Type for your new Problem Report Type 2
  • A new life cycle template for it
    • This is where you will call out your workflow for when this type is created
  • An OIR for the soft type