cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

We are happy to announce the new Windchill Customization board! Learn more.

Working with AutoCAD (DWG) files

powermixx
2-Guest

Working with AutoCAD (DWG) files

I'm new to Windchill, just having it installed. I'm already an Admin for Solidworks PDM (5 years), now a newly ordained Admin for Winchill - since the prior Admin has left the company. Awesome. 😉

Many questions:

1) Can Windchill maintain all file types like JPG, MS Office docs, DWG, etc? I'm assuming yes as these type of files have no relations between them. Is anything extra needed for the maintaining of these file types?

2) Are there "plugins" available to allow maintaining of native Solidworks parts & assemblies?

3) Does Windchill have a workflow module? Is that extra or built in?

4) What resources would you recommend? I'm guessing I can locate a local VAR and inquire about local admin training. Just also asking what other resources you would recommend?

5) Is there an annual users group conference type thing?

Thank you in advance.

3 REPLIES 3
BenLoosli
23-Emerald II
(To:powermixx)

Welcome to the nightmare of Windchill Administration!

1) Yes. Some of the Office and other CAD file formats have integration into Windchill so they can be managed almost as easily as Creo files.

2) Yes, they are called Work Group Managers (WGM) and are available for a price for the major other CAD systems, SolidWorks, NX, Catia and AutoCad, etc.

3) Workflows and lifecyles are built in but you may need to customize them to what your company needs them to do.

4) If you haven't dome so, I would recommend taking the System Admin and the Business Admin training classes. Many VARs offer them and they all use the same PTC material. Choose a VAR that is convenient to you or far away if you want to get away. Phoenix training in January is nice for those of us in snowy parts of the country.