cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - New to the community? Learn how to post a question and get help from PTC and industry experts! X

Creo 2.0 -How to create a drawing template(borders)??!!

ptc-4652905
1-Newbie

Creo 2.0 -How to create a drawing template(borders)??!!

Hi all,

Can anyone tell me how to do this? I have blank sheets for all my drawings and no idea how to create metric templates. I cant see a clear way to do it. I'm new to creo, coming from a UG background.

9 REPLIES 9

If you have the borders ready in UG, export it to a Dxf file. While in Drawing mode in Proe, begin a New FORMAT and then import the dxf file.

While in format you can also include parameters like sheet numbers.

Once the format is created, you can then create a Template using the format. A template would consist of editable entities. It can include entities like, drawing number, drawing name, drawn by etc.

A new drawing created can use the "TEMPLATE" created.

I know little about templates and in my business it is probably not useful but I should look into it more.

As for formats themselves, a few things you need to know:

1. there is a special format file (*.frm) that by default are located in the PTC folder. This is a straight forward "drawing" where you can "sketch" all your template geometry, insert logo pictures (never done that myself), import 2D data, and... this part is important... make tables.

2. All "relations" driven border data is entered in drawing tables. You cannot do this with ordinary text, only tables. Variables start with "&". These have to be added to your 3D files or you will be nagged... umm prompted to enter the data when you start a new drawing with said format.

3. Tables are reasonably powerful from being able to merge cells, format the text in the cells, and hide lines that shouldn't show up.