cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Help us improve the PTC Community by taking this short Community Survey! X

Intelligent fasteners and repeat regions

nsgoldberg
6-Contributor

Intelligent fasteners and repeat regions

We use a hardware library in Windchill with Creo 3. It works, but I started playing with the Intelligent Fastener tool and really like it. It's much faster/easier than using hardware libraries.

Therefore, I'm trying to get our BOM to work with it.

Here's my stupid part:

And here's my current BOM:

With the current relations:

Here are the screw parameters:

So I wrote this relation in an attempt to select either the screw parameters (naming, designation) for item and description or our standard model parameters (drawing_num, description), and then to tie that to the repeat region using the new parameters (item_name, item_description). The new repeat region parameters are (asm.mbr.item_name, asm.mbr.item_description). Ignore the first block, that's to list bulk items with an "AR" for quantity.

But I get an empty BOM with this relation. Using "naming" and "designation" for my repeat regions, I can get the screws to show up, but not my created hardware:

So. Any idea what I'm doing wrong? I've spent several hours trying different combinations but can't seem to get it to work.

Also, is there a way to make all text uppercase? I don't see a "toupper()" function, like some programming languages have. My guess is you'd have to write additional relations for this capability.

Wondering if I should just give up and stick with our hardware libraries...

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Hi,

I am sending modified drawing. It contains following repeat reqion.

repert_region_modified.png

The most important change was made in Local Parameters section of Relations dialog box. I added two parameters - see red rectangle.

added_params01.png