cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Have a PTC product question you need answered fast? Chances are someone has asked it before. Learn about the community search. X

Illustrate standards question.

TomM
12-Amethyst

Illustrate standards question.

Hi, I am new to Creo Illustrate and I'm trying to wrap my head around using it. I'm using Creo 7.0. When it comes to standards - they contain all the needed styles, symbols, properties. I know how to create a standard, export or add one but I can't seem to be able to find how to edit a standard. It seems a natural thing to be able to edit such things - specifically I need to add some symbols "on the fly" when I come across a need for one. I found out I can download a zip file with text based setting for standards but it's painfully time consuming to edit that every time I need to do it and I don't even know as of now if I'll be able to add proper symbols or callout using this workflow. Could you please let me know if there's a way to edit symbol library or callout library a "normal way"? Kind regards, Tom

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
agarland
16-Pearl
(To:TomM)

Hi Tom,

To update a standard in 7.0 you would add the new symbols in the options dialog and then use the 'Export as Standard' option to save out the new standard with the extra symbols.  Unfortunately in 7.0 there is no way to update the standard in existing files (this ability was added in 8.0) so you would have to add the new symbols into each file manually. 

In 8.0 we introduced the Administration tool for managing standards as well as the ability to update standards in legacy files.

In the upcoming 8.1 release you will be able to use a new batch tool to update the standards in multiple legacy files in one go.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
VladimirN
24-Ruby II