cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - When posting, your subject should be specific and summarize your question. Here are some additional tips on asking a great question. X

Can I define squared variables?

gshockxcc
7-Bedrock

Can I define squared variables?

Hello.  I'm new to Mathcad, and I'm trying out some symbolic variable definitions.  Can I define a variable like this? : 

gshockxcc_0-1668897530611.png

I have tried to mimic the w^2 term, but I am unable to set an assignment statement.

Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Use the literal subscript.

And if you experience troubles, show and attach your worksheet.

What are you trying to do after you made the assignment?

Werner_E_0-1668898262704.png

If you really try to ASSIGN, you can only use the variable itself, not its squared value.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

Use the literal subscript.

And if you experience troubles, show and attach your worksheet.

What are you trying to do after you made the assignment?

Werner_E_0-1668898262704.png

If you really try to ASSIGN, you can only use the variable itself, not its squared value.

Being new to Mathcad, I've tried to absorb as much as I can from the tutorials, but sometimes it's as simple as understanding what I can/can't do.  I repeated the logic you showed above, and it seems to work fine.  The reason that I wanted to write the formula in the form that I did is because I may be solving for w_c1, c_c1, or u_c1, depending on the conditions of the problem that I'm solving.  Obviously, I would just edit the "solve" statement to change the variable that I'm solving for.

Any thoughts on that approach, or better ways to set this up?