cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Have a PTC product question you need answered fast? Chances are someone has asked it before. Learn about the community search. X

Intersections Calculate 2 circles / Analysis / Math

Marc2610
6-Contributor

Intersections Calculate 2 circles / Analysis / Math

Hey,

I am from Germany and need some help. I am new with MathCad.

I want to calculate the insections of 2 cycles.

My Problems:

The plot of 2 variables in 1 diagram doesnt work. I tried it on the x-Axis with f(x,y) and on the y axis with x,y. No cycle is shown.

Then next problem is to subtract f(x,y) - g(x,y). Whats the Syntax? Can somebody tell me?

Is it possible to write a litte programm which calculates me the intersections or tell me the solution?

My program:

m11:=0
m12:=0
r1=8

m21:=7
m22:=8
r2:=3.25

f(x,y):=(x-m11)^2 + (y-m12)^2 - r1^2
g(x,y):=(x-m21)^2 + (y-m22)^2 - r2^2

h(x,y):=f(x,y)-g(x,y)

Thank you.

Greetings MM

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Here is one way (done in Prime 2, so there is no point in providing the worksheet!)

circles.JPG

Alan

View solution in original post

22 REPLIES 22

Here is one way (done in Prime 2, so there is no point in providing the worksheet!)

circles.JPG

Alan

First of all: Don't just post pictures, post the Mathcad or Prime worksheet!

Its not clear if you just want to plot two circles or if you want to calculate the points of intersection.

What you defined with f(x,y):=... ist NOT a circle! Its a surface in 3D, a paraboloid. To plot it you would have to use Primes mediocre 3D-plot capabilities.

The circle you probably have in mind has the equation f(x,y)=0 and is the intersection of the paraboloid with the xy-plane.