cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Want the oppurtunity to discuss enhancements to PTC products? Join a working group! X

Noob plotting

gshockxcc
7-Bedrock

Noob plotting

I'm very new to Mathcad, but getting the hang of it.  I admit, plotting eludes me.  I'm trying to plot one column of data against another in an X-Y plot.  I just came across this post that explains you can't do this.

https://community.ptc.com/t5/Mathcad/Needs-help-with-Plotting/m-p/273538#M106881

If I understand correctly, I can't plot a vector over a range.  Good.  I don't want to.  I already have two vectors (at least I think so), but when I try to plot them, I only get the first and last data point.

Seems like the Chart function works well.  I have really tried to use the PTC Help, and I have found it really lacking for the beginner.  Any suggestions on other resources?

Many of my datasets and use cases are simply a range of X and Y data.  I may have multiples of each, x1 vs y1, x2 vs y2, etc, all plotted on the same X-Y plot.  My goal is to plot several curves, each with their own X-Y pairs.  

Do I need to reformat the vector to make it easier to plot?

Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Hi,

Prime calculates from left to right and from top to bottom.

This means the top of a graph should be lower than the definitions of what plot is plotting.

All you need do is move things around a little so items are defined to the left or above the items use.

You will need to reestablish link with Excel Data

Cheers

Terry

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

Hi,

Prime calculates from left to right and from top to bottom.

This means the top of a graph should be lower than the definitions of what plot is plotting.

All you need do is move things around a little so items are defined to the left or above the items use.