cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about the Community Ranking System, a fun gamification element of the PTC Community. X

Numerical Integration with Mathcad Prime 7

Michael2
4-Participant

Numerical Integration with Mathcad Prime 7

Dear community,

Unfortunately, I have no experience with numerical integration. Now I am confronted with this problem (detailed description in mcdx). I hope that one of you can help me to solve the problem.
Many thanks

Michael

11 REPLIES 11

Hi 

I can show how to do the integrals but the J0 in the post has two parameters while j0 in Prime has only one parameter so do not understand the full syntax of the whole integral.

Cheers

Terry

The text seems to lack the usage of multiplication dots, so I guess that J0 is not supposed to be Bessel function with two arguments but rather the argument should be a product.

Numerical integration can't use infinity as integral limit. So you either have to use symbolical evaluation (with all its limitations) or use a large number as upper limit as Terry had shown.

Next problem is that z.a should be a scalar, but in the sheet its a vector!

Hi

Not sure if this is correct as no idea what is the x axis of the graph and have just taken the interval np.

It does show you how to proceed to get a working integral:

Capture.JPG

Capture2.JPG

Capture3.JPG

Cheers

Terry

Hello Terry, Werner,

Sorry for my late response. But first I would like to thank you very much for your help. I was very pleased that you took the time to look into my problem.
Unfortunately, I've been very busy the last few days, so I haven't found the time to look into the matter more closely. I will get back to you in the next few days.
Many thanks and best regards
Michael

Michael2
4-Participant
(To:Michael2)

Hello Terry, Werner,