cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Want the oppurtunity to discuss enhancements to PTC products? Join a working group! X

Programming tutorial - Task 2-2

jsznajder
1-Newbie

Programming tutorial - Task 2-2

Hello! I am new to Mathcad Prime. I would like to ask You for a help. My problem is as below:

zzz.png

The task is to write the function using "also if" condition. I don't understand why, when I assign to variable "x" sth different than text string i get no result (should be 3 in my opinion). The function works perfectly with strings, i mean if I assigna to "x" string shorter than 5 i get result 1, when I assign value larger than 5 I get 2. Just that statement "else" doesn't want to work. Thank You for all advices in advance!

5 REPLIES 5

Please attach your worksheet - choose "use advanced editor" at the upper right to do so.

What is the error message?

The problem seems to be that you use y as selector but you change that value in the conditional branch. You may try using a different variable for the return value or replace "y <-- 1" for "return 1", etc.

Error message: "This value must be a string". In the exercise is written to use local variable "y" for these 3 conditions.

So the problem is the "also if" part. It is (look at the help files) evaluated regardless of the result of the forgoing if (in contrary to else if). So the routine tries to evaluate strlen(x) even if x is no string and that throws the error.

Are you sure you are forced to use "also if"? I see no need and no use for an "also if" here.

I would do it that way:

task22_1.png

wawa.png