cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Your Friends List is a way to easily have access to the community members that you interact with the most! X

Require to differentiate wrt Fourier coefficient Mathcad Prime 8

FK_10732959
4-Participant

Require to differentiate wrt Fourier coefficient Mathcad Prime 8

Hi guys, I am doing my master's dissertation and i have come across a problem. I have in my sheet Fourier series which is used to show displacement field in this research i am doing. The problem is that by the end of my calculations i have to differentiate a few equations with these Fourier coefficients. I am but unable to do this as in the differentiation operator i am unable to use anything other than variables in the denominator, i am unable to have the index operator in the denominator of the differential equation. I have just started working with Mathcad a month ago. I  have attached two pics to show what i am trying to get at. Any help would be really appreciated. Thank you. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Its not really clear to me what you are actually trying to do and from the pics we don't see how you defined your variables and/or functions (I don't see any function in your pics!).

But its true that its a bad limitation of Prime that it can't handle vector functions pretty good and won't allow an indexed variable as variable of derivation.

Not sure but maybe the Nabla operator can be handy?

Werner_E_0-1688751638393.png

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Its not really clear to me what you are actually trying to do and from the pics we don't see how you defined your variables and/or functions (I don't see any function in your pics!).

But its true that its a bad limitation of Prime that it can't handle vector functions pretty good and won't allow an indexed variable as variable of derivation.