cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can subscribe to a forum, label or individual post and receive email notifications when someone posts a new topic or reply. Learn more! X

Solving an equation symbolically

ptc-6670542
1-Newbie

Solving an equation symbolically

Just started using MathCAD today, so I am very new to it. I am basically trying to solve a complicated equation (shaft diameter sizing) with a bunch of known variables in terms of 1 unknown variable. I want to have the answer in symbolic terms so I can use the same equation for different sized shaft calculations. How the heck do I do this? I have been looking at the help files and other posts for some time now and still am not any clearer. Please see the attached file for reference.

Thanks in advance!

Rob

8 REPLIES 8

You need to write your functions in terms of the variable so that they compute.

For multiple uses you can employ a "solve block" as a function; Mathcad will find the values that fit.

Attached is a "one of" solution for your problem as posed. Adding the solve block is left as an exercise . . .!

Thanks for the response, but not exactly what I am needing. I really need to have the equation solved for Te symbolically. Is there a way to do that, rather than just get a numerical answer?

Thanks for the response, but not exactly what I am needing. I really need to have the equation solved for Te symbolically.

Why? In you first posting you wrote

"I want to have the answer in symbolic terms so I can use the same equation for different sized shaft calculations."

If thats your motivation, then no symbolic solution would be necessary.