cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - If community subscription notifications are filling up your inbox you can set up a daily digest and get all your notifications in a single email. X

What is CAD document life, right from user checking it in until it gets accessed back by other user.

SModugu
12-Amethyst

What is CAD document life, right from user checking it in until it gets accessed back by other user.

I am a System admin and would like to understand how a CAD document goes through the various parts of windchill, right from its creation and checking it in to windchill until it gets accessed by other users.

what are the Agents involved in making this CAD doc life cycle. I just need a simple crisp steps that it crosses inlcuding Q mngmnt,WVS, CAD workers and other. if any.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
avillanueva
22-Sapphire I
(To:SModugu)

At high level, this is what occurs. Beyond this, I would suggest diving into the PTC University courses as fast as possible to backfill your Windchill knowledge.

CAD files are saved to a workspace which is a structured folder on the user's system (meta data and obfuscated files). There is a "workspace" object on the server side. Before a check in starts, CAD files are uploaded and placed in a CAD Document object in that workspace or the users personal area. No one else but admins can see them. The files would normally be stored to the default cache vault as a temporary landing location. During the check in step, the object status on the server is updated to be visible to others and moved into a Library or Product area "folder". This files that are associated with this CAD Document are then moved from the default cache vault to the main vault depending on the vaulting rules of the Product or Library. The Database keeps track of where those files are.