cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can change your system assigned username to something more personal in your community settings. X

Creating a wool-like fabric in creo 2.0

anwodu
1-Newbie

Creating a wool-like fabric in creo 2.0

Hi im still very new to pro e and am having troubles creating a wool like atomizer (thats used for perfume bottles) for my final project that may or may not be due tomorrow I have the overall shape of it but its completely solid. i hopefully uploaded a picture of what im trying to create. Can anyone help me?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
anwodu
1-Newbie
(To:anwodu)

image.jpg

yes thats pretty much exactly what i did with great difficulty

1. sweep: draw outline of 1 vertical stitch.

2. pattern: about axis ( could only take about15 without crashing)

3. sweep: (manually) horizontal stitches guestimating the values

heres my finish product: it would be better if i had more than 1 day to learn/finish it

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
TomD.inPDX
17-Peridot

Oh my... that can be a challenge if you mean to try to weave the fabric in true 3D.

For the most part, people tend to make textures that closely resemble these objects for renderings. Otherwise it is simply a rubber bulb with covering.

you can make your own textures for the appearance manager. You can even make the image have 3D texture in the rendering module by specifying a "BUMP" file.

You are not going to master this overnight.

If you do insist on a 3D feature to mimic the weave of the wool... also look into pattering a feature by mapping it onto a surface. It will be interesting to see what you come up with.

I was just thinking of doing a pattern of a sweep i made thats is the shape of the atomizer but i cant select the center axis/datum plane for some reason. I actually noticed other discussions about this issue as well.

TomD.inPDX