cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about PTC Community Badges. Engage with PTC and see how many you can earn! X

Bursting Configuration

ptc-2268933
1-Newbie

Bursting Configuration

Hello All, new to the board, so any advice would be appreciated.

I'm trying to recreate our parent company's approach to our PTC solution, however our communication with them is limited.

In doing so, I can begin to revise their approach and procedures for our needs and build our Windchill ditabase. We receive their XML files for our manuals, and I obtained a copy of their custom folders with their stylesheets. I also received their bursting rules. When I try to burst a book from the map level, it comes back with an error saying, "Cannot modify the following attributes: lang, because they are not defined. I'm still a novice, although I have gone through all the AE and WC PTC courses I can go through, but I'm not sure where to fix this issue. The attributes are defined in the bursting rules, I see language under the attribute root in the Type and Attribute Mgr in WC, and it is a valid element attribute in the dcf. Where shouldI look, or should I post this in a better suited forum?

Thanks

Another question. If you're realtively new to the PTC family, and you have gone through AE, WC and Styler courses from PTC and read through a lot of their manuals, where would you look next for additional training and understanding? A lot of these courses teach basic application, but not understanding of what to do.

Thanks again!

16 REPLIES 16

I don't think there are a lot of hands-on, button-clicking classes you can take. Probably one of the best things you can do is what you are doing right now: ask the Adepters. Trial-and-error and asking questions here may turn out to be your best bet.

Hi Bryon,

You may need to upload the burst config file(s) to the Windchill