cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The PTC Community email address has changed to community-mailer@ptc.com. Learn more.

table support for custom doctype

kmccain
3-Visitor

table support for custom doctype

Hi -

I am new to Epic (am using 5.3) and have been tasked to convert some legacy manuals to sgml using the NAVSEAC2.dtd for my custom doctype. I cannot get tables to display using this dtd. I'm pretty sure the tagging is valid because I can cut and paste my tables into a blank document using the milspec.dtd and they display in the edit window. So I've been doing that in order to check my table formatting for now.

What would I require to display tables for my custom doctype? Also, does anyone know of a print fosi for the navsea dtd? I am trying to create one for it for my own use and have managed to get most of the text and graphics to output sort of OK by sheer trial and error, but again, the tables are just rows of text.

Thanks for any information.

6 REPLIES 6

You can probably google up a FOSI for that DTD, if you can't get one
from whomever gave you the DTD. The DTD probably references the CALS
table or the SOEX table, so you would need to have that DTD or element
file somewhere where Epic can find it and resolve the tags. If you have
a document conforming to the DTD and it has table markup in it, Epic
should complain when you open it, if it's not valid. If it's valid and
you can't see the table grid, check your view table markup settings and
make sure that view table markup is not checked.

You might also need to enable the default table model in your custom
doctype's DCF file.

It's a set of attributes under the <option> element. First is
"defaultTableModel", which should be set to a value of "cals". The
other is "tableSupport", which should be set to "yes".

Check these values, set them if they aren't already, and that may fix
your issue.

HIH,

-Jason

kmccain