cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community email notifications are disrupted. While we are working to resolve, please check on your favorite boards regularly to keep up with your conversations and new topics.

Axis labels in 3-D and contour plots

dfehr
1-Newbie

Axis labels in 3-D and contour plots

I am using Mathcad 14 m020. I am relatively new to using 3-D and contour plots in Mathcad. I am currently plotting FFT spectrum data of a time history data set in which I am slicing the total time history into smaller time windows (i.e. a waterfall plot). The calculated FFT spectra of the time history data is stored in a matrix in which the rows of the matrix correspond to the frequency (Y axis), the columns of the matrix data correspond to the time window slices (X axis) and the magnitude of the FFT is the Z axis (or color of the contour plot). Is there a way of changing the display for the X axis scale on the plot such that it shows the corresponding time of the time window instead of the matrix column number? Likewise, display on the Y axis the corresponding frequency instead of the matrix row number? I do not see any simple way of doing this. Am I missing something obvious?

Thank You
DJF
14 REPLIES 14
RichardJ
19-Tanzanite
(To:dfehr)

Create 3 matrices of the same size, with the X, Y, and Z coordinates. In the graph placeholder type (X,Y,Z).

Richard

"Save as" version 11 for a larger audience.
More collab might be willing to doctor the idea.
Many Mathcaders have ready made tools.

jmG
PhilipOakley
5-Regular Member

On 3/26/2009 9:46:03 AM, djfehr wrote:
Is there a way of
>changing the display for the X
>axis scale on the plot such
>that it shows the
>corresponding time of the time
>window instead of the matrix
>column number? Likewise,
>display on the Y axis the
>corresponding frequency
>instead of the matrix row
>number? I do not see any
>simple way of doing this. Am