cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can subscribe to a forum, label or individual post and receive email notifications when someone posts a new topic or reply. Learn more! X

Using roots for fluid flow problem

ChrisMacnair-di
1-Newbie

Using roots for fluid flow problem

I'm a chem eng student on a summer internship.

I am performing an iterative calculation in order to do a Non-Newtonian fluid flow calculation, unfortunately I'm fairly inexperienced with this sort of function in Mathcad.

I've used a previous template to put together this sheet, but the equations have changed significantly as I'm doing a Non-Newtonian multi-phase calc whereas before there were a lot of simplifications.

when I try to find the root of the solution, it tells me "these values cannot be compared". I've tried everything I can think of, from changing the guess value to constructing a graph. Unfortunately I'm not making any leeway.

I will attach my mathcad file so far, I hope there is someone who can/will help!

Cheers
23 REPLIES 23

Use please Trace Error Command on red operator and see your error!
Val
http://twt.mpei.ac.ru/ochkov/v_ochkov.htm

Thanks for your reply,

I've used the trace to locate a problem... apparently where I've defined the conditions for the Reynold's number is the source of my woe!

"if Re < 2000" - I now get the same message here: "these values cannot be compared".

Again I've had a play around, what I've come up with so far is attached. But I still can't quite sort it...

Same problem. When you call f(Re) you attempt to compare Re to 2000. You can't do that. Comparing a vector to a scalar is meaningless.

Richard

In both of your sheets the unerlying problem is the same -- you are looping on i and you need to be looking at Rei, the current element, and not the entire vector.