cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you get an answer that solved your problem? Please mark it as an Accepted Solution so others with the same problem can find the answer easily. X

Viewing list of items of a Query Backed Relationship field

ptc-5208303
1-Newbie

Viewing list of items of a Query Backed Relationship field

Hello Everyone,

I am new to Integrity and have the below mentioned problem to be solved:-

I have created a query backed relationship field (QBR), lets call it XYZ.

XYZ is supposed to generate a list of items (based on an already defined query) of type ABC.

This query does contain 5 items and can be generated. But when used in a QBR, am not able to see the lsit of items.

XYZ is one of the fields of type EFG.

IJK is another field of EFG and when creating a new item of type EFG, this field IJK has to be checked against the entries listed in XYZ. If it is present in the lsit, the item of type EFG is not allowed to be created.

The problem here is that I am unable to see the list of XYZ anywhere, either while creating the type EFG item or afterwards.

Could someone please help me out here and tell me how exactly a QBR can be set up and where to see the generated table of items?

Thanks!

2 REPLIES 2

Hi Sunil,

QBR fields generate lists by taking the generic query and filter it down based on the fields on the current item. (This is handled by the field correlation section of the QBR field set up.) You can view this by looking at an item where the QBR field is visible.

If you are not seeing anything in the QBR field on an item, you probably want to check how the correlation is set up.

I am not 100% sure if the QBR is the best way to achieve your use case, you might be better off with a custom trigger script that runs the query for XYZ and performs the business logic check against IJK, and aborts if the item should not be created.