cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

We are happy to announce the new Windchill Customization board! Learn more.

Adding attributes (fields) to Windchill

bschmidt-2
1-Newbie

Adding attributes (fields) to Windchill

Hi everybody,

in the PTC Windchill customization guide (chapter 😎 is a tutorial for adding attributes to a type.

I have a request to add two more informations to a WTPart. They are needed for a interface to a erp-system. My plan is to use the "Typ- und Attributverwaltung" (type- and attributeadministration) to add two more attributes to the type WTPart.

In fact I have no experience with customizing windchill and I have no test system. So I would appreciate your advice for my approach.

Thanks in advance.

Best regards

Benjamin

8 REPLIES 8

A few comments:

1. Most important - you say you have no test system.  Stop and don't do anything until you have both a test system and the ability to routinely re-host it from production.  Develop absolutely all changes in the rehosted system before applying to production.  Don't take this lightly - have to do it.

2. Adding attributes is done from a web page / java applet rather than from the file system, so classified as configuration, not customization.  This is important for rehosting, backup, installing new builds, etc., etc.  Anything done when initiated from a web page is stored in the database, so management of files is not an issue.  When you change files, more process is required.

3. You may want to create sub type(s) of WTPart and apply the attributes to one sub type, leaving the root WTPart type alone. Seems to be something almost everyone wished they had done.  Attributes assigned to the root type are inherited by all sub types.