cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can Bookmark boards, posts or articles that you'd like to access again easily! X

How to configure Windchill and Apache using Third Party SSL Certificates in Windchill PLM?

SB_10566278
7-Bedrock

How to configure Windchill and Apache using Third Party SSL Certificates in Windchill PLM?

Hi,

I'm new to certificates and SSL configuration.

Is it possible to secure the Windchill URL from HTTP to HTTPS using a self-signed certificate generated with OpenSSL? Or, do we need to use intermediate and third-party certificates for this purpose?

I have tried with self signed certificate somehow windchill url showing HTTPS (but it is again not secure with strike-through).

I would appreciate any guidance you can provide.

Best regards,

Shrikant Bhosle

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

I have tried using the OpenSSL self-signed certificate and it worked fine for me.

SB_10566278_0-1721805175285.png

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

Hi @SB_10566278 

I always say, if you do not want to see the not trusted certificate information then you should use public authority to generate the certificate.

Each company that use https web pages use public certificate authority so your IT should generate the certificate for you with your name and domain. 

A browser have to trust the cert authority. .

I haven't found a way how to force the browser to trust self-sign certificate and do not show that the web is not secured.

HelesicPetr_0-1721291370533.png

PetrH

mmeadows-3
14-Alexandrite
(To:HelesicPetr)

Adding to @HelesicPetr's response...

It is possible to use self-signed certificates.  There isn't a force trust button.  Browsers read the certificate and compare it to a set of trust requirements.  If it meets all the requirements, then it is trusted.