cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

We are happy to announce the new Windchill Customization board! Learn more.

MPMLink duplicate with selective propagation

TomM
12-Amethyst

MPMLink duplicate with selective propagation

Hi.

I'm quite new to MPMLink, bear with me please.

1. To my understanding, usually most subassemblies end up being manipulated in mBOM. Taking a long time horizon we can expect that many will have to have their components moved around assembly line/cell therefore it's fine to just duplicate assemblies with propagation, or is it not? 

2. Manufacturing view usually should not be applied to bottom level items (single, inseparable components) unless necessary for some reason, right?

However I can't see how one would work with big assemblies when there's no way to exclude parts from "duplicate with propagation" choice when creating a new branch.

3. What is the right way to introduce MPMLink (right now only mBOM creation) to corporation with thousands of assemblies? To make it simpler:

I wish to create an mBOM out of several assemblies (there's no single eBOM of a final product). Do I need to open each subassembly that 100% sure is going to be manipulated (structure-wise) and drag-drop it later on to the mBOM side (or create a new branch, whatever the route) and leave all the other as they are in "design" view? And leave all the parts in "design" view as well? Sounds like a loooooot of work...

4. Now, I wish to create an mBOM of a sizeable assembly. My company has several different contexts managed by different sites around the world. Among them is a context of common parts (fasteners most notably, but not only).