cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

We are happy to announce the new Windchill Customization board! Learn more.

Using Roles

ShaylynJoy
1-Newbie

Using Roles

Hi All,

We are currently using custom groups mapped to ACLs for permission control. We are interested in using the OOTB roles feature and are wondering what the benefits are to using groups versus roles.

Would anyone be willing to share their experiences?

Thank you,

- Shaylyn

12 REPLIES 12

I studied and played with this in detail some time back but couldn't see the advantage. Still interested in understanding it.

Well you have to be willing to define new roles for specific use cases.

Too often admins only use OOTB roles and do not leverage them for profiles, filtering, ACL's.

If I knew what you were thinking about trying to specifically do I could probably comment better. I have found deny to work better with roles vs groups, etc.

I use four or five roles these days just for designers. Electrical vs. Mechanical vs. Software.

Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

I use to find no difference between Roles and Groups. Both are looking same and I am not sure if we can access Groups at Application container Level ( I assume that it is used at Org level only)

We found lot of issues with the ACL setting at Application container level (we had 20-30 Roles, I guess lot of)..Please dont use OOTB Roles ( I am afraid of using it).

I read somehwere in the PTC guide that, ACLs should be defined at Org/Site Level for better maintenance/easy management.

Still trying to find the difference between Roles,Groups, Profiles and Team (huuh)....

best of luck

Roles –Context Specific Access control

Groups – Not Context Specific