cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

We are happy to announce the new Windchill Customization board! Learn more.

Windchill: Document Management

fj1200
2-Guest

Windchill: Document Management

Good morning all,

I am new to Windchill so please have patience with me.  We're on v10.1, and I have been asked to look into whether or not we can use it as a document management system for our IT, Systems, Vendor and Maintenance documentation.  I've used enterprise level EDM systems before and from what I've seen Windchill does not have many of the features I would expect, but it does have document version control which we want.   I understand it's more for projects and manufacturing and we use it for that at the moment. 

I would like to be able to store documents in a basic simple folder structure and then use a metadata search to pull them together by topic or by area or by system or by whatever I want, which really needs something like a keyworking facility.  Can Windchill do that?  We have a huge amount of documentation that whist not related to a single project, relates to the hardware and systems that the projects run on and  we want to get it into a central repository that is manageable and searchable. 

My view is that we probably need a proper EDM solution but want to explore what we already have first.  Any assistance greatly appreciated.

4 REPLIES 4
avillanueva
22-Sapphire I
(To:fj1200)