cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

We are happy to announce the new Windchill Customization board! Learn more.

Need info on Windchill IBA attributes.

sdaftardar
12-Amethyst

Need info on Windchill IBA attributes.

I am trying to update the last modification date and the creation date on a Windchill Object, say WTPart, and while searching info regarding this I stumbled on IBA attributes.

I am new to Windchill and am not able to relate these kind of terminologies to the application.

So can somebody please explain to me what do IBA attributes in Windchill mean, and how are they different from other attributes of Windchill.
and if the last modification date and creation date of objects are IBA attributes, is there a way to update these attributes using a Windchill task so that we won't need to worry about updating these attributes directly to the database.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Hi

IBAs are "Instance Based Attributes".  You can add easily IBAs on existing Windchill objects by simple configuration in TypeManager.

In the opposite MBAs are modeled based attributes.  "hard modeled" in standard Windchill Objects.

creation and modification dates are MBAs

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

Hi

IBAs are "Instance Based Attributes".  You can add easily IBAs on existing Windchill objects by simple configuration in TypeManager.

In the opposite MBAs are modeled based attributes.  "hard modeled" in standard Windchill Objects.

creation and modification dates are MBAs

Hi Gregory,

Thanks for your reply and the info,

I am to understand that we can update the Windchill objects for most MBAs using the Update-Objects webject, but we have noticed we cannot use them to update the last modification and creation date. Do you know some other way by which this can be achieved?

Hello,