cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about PTC Community Badges. Engage with PTC and see how many you can earn! X

Flexible materials in assemblies

ChrisDude
1-Newbie

Flexible materials in assemblies

Dear all,

I'm a rookie Pro/E user (used SolidWorks before), and this is my first time post.

I did a search on my issue, but couldn't find a proper answer.

What is PRO/e the best way to work with flexible materials in an assembly? I.e.: when a piece of flexible rubber is used to make a seal. In normal state it should be in it's original state (say with a thickness of 50mm), but in the assembly it's compressed to make the seal, and than it has a thickness of 45mm.

In the part state, I'd like it to be undeformed (50mm), to specify to the suplier in a drawing. But, in the assembly state I'd like it like in the real-life situation, prefent overlap in the assembly.

Does Pro/E offer a feature for this? (Using WF4.0 btw)

Thanks in advance,

Chris - The Netherlands

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
4 REPLIES 4

Chris

Have you investigated flexible components? Take a look at this tutorial which is based on a spring

Thanks, Jim

Hope you got your problem solved. If not let us know what you need help with.

I personally think flexible components are great. We use them in several places to have a standard part but show how it works in the real world.