cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Want the oppurtunity to discuss enhancements to PTC products? Join a working group! X

Need Help Converting A Solid Part To Sheetmetal

Craig_H
1-Newbie

Need Help Converting A Solid Part To Sheetmetal

I will first apologize since I am basically new to using Creo Paramtric 2.0.

I am trying to convert the following solid part to sheetmetal so that I can flatten it and get a drawing from it. I attempted doing it by going under Operations and choosing convert to Sheetmetal but had no luck. I think I had issues there because I had already done a shell in the part.

Please help.

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
4 REPLIES 4

How are you planning to fabricate the pyramid? Are you seam welding the 4 radiating edges or is this stamped?

If the pyramid is stamped, you want to use the form feature to create that face. And if that is the case, the part is not too difficult to make from scratch inside sheetmetal.

If you intend to weld those 4 edges, we'll take another tact. Please advise.

Also note that there is not a consistent material thickness throughout. It is better to keep it a solid lump then shell it during the conversion.

We don't stamp here where I work and only have press brakes so I assume the only way we could make this part would be to do seam welds. I look forward to hearing ideas on how to either design it in sheetmetal or how to make it as a solid and then convert.