cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you know you can set a signature that will be added to all your posts? Set it here! X

Questions about fundamentals

ptc-6161310
1-Newbie

Questions about fundamentals

Hello

I am new to Creo. I am trying to learn it, on my own, as quickly as possible. I've been a drafter for many, many years. I am an expert in another two applications. I apologise ahead if this is not the right place for this question. If this is the case, I would appreciate it if you could direct me to the right place.

The way I am learning, is by going through as many tutorials and materials as I am able to find online. Many of them have shown me many neat things that Creo has.

My first fundamental question has to do with Part Master, or Master Model - I am even unsure of the proper terminology.

As I understand it, this refers to a model (or assembly, perhaps?) that includes all the design intent. This model is restricted, locked, and controlled by the project's 'owner'. As such, it seems to me that the primary purpose of this would be to have one or more people create variations of this master model, with it remaining intact, perhaps for the goal of evaluating iterations or maybe to generate families of parts that vary in size or that have a shape variation from the original master model.

Is that statement correct? If not, can someone correct it for me?

In Creo, what is the procedure to create a part as a master model,or to define an existing part as one? Can anyone provide an example, or point to one?

A 1.1 question would be if the master model concept applies to assemblies in a way different from skeleton modeling?