cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Need help navigating or using the PTC Community? Contact the community team. X

Silkscreen Artworks Best Practices

scott_rockwell
5-Regular Member

Silkscreen Artworks Best Practices

Pro-gurus,

Runnig Creo Parametric 2.0 m070.

From time to time we have sheet metal designs that require silk screened graphics.

The vendor requires the artwork in Adobe Illustrator (.ai) file format. I'm not an AI expert.

I do have access to Adobe Illustrator and can see that there are many possible file formats; jpeg, dxf, dwg, bmp, png - the list goes on and on. I also see that Illustrator is a file format option during an import into CREO (no success going this route to date).

I have looked at decals but they disappear in unshaded drawing views and line-art used for our service documentation.

We generally start with solid geometry and add cosmetic features to represent the graphics (sometimes hard than it sounds depending on the graphic). This is then added to a single view in a blank drawing which is <save a=" copy="> in DXF format. This file is used to seed the our Adobe Illustrator exprerts. They add the "offical" graphics, hide our initial dxf imported data and save off the .ai file.

This is where the loop ends.

I would like to add the "offical" graphics back into the 3d model. It should maintain fonts, line weights and fill areas from the artwork file. Often line weights and fill areas turn into outlines which don't actually fill.

Please, can someone outline the full circle best practice approach to this process.