cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Your Friends List is a way to easily have access to the community members that you interact with the most! X

Sketching a heatsink profile for extrusion

xwalker
1-Newbie

Sketching a heatsink profile for extrusion

My first post here, so please excuse me. I'm new to Parametric (have used Autocad in the past for modelling). I've searched quite a bit but cannot seem to find an easy answer to what seems to me to be a simple sketching need.

I'm looking to sketch some heatsinks manufactured from extruded aluminium. I would have thought the simplest method is to sketch the profile then extrude this. However, if it's a long, repetitive profile requiring hundreds of clicks to create the fins, this quickly becomes tedious.

I've tried doing a few then mirroring them, but this creates unimaginable angle references and the drawing becomes unusable. Also, despite ensuring all the lines are joined up, I cannot create the extrusion.

I've also looked at doing a pattern of the sketch, but for that to work, I pattern just one fin, but cannot then complete the base of the heatsink as that would need to be another sketch (otherwise the base is patterned too).

I'd really appreciate any pointers in how to do this effectively. I'm trying to recreate something like this: http://www.abl-heatsinks.co.uk/index.php?page=extrudedproduct&product=179

Thanks in advance.

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Inoram
13-Aquamarine
(To:xwalker)