cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Your Friends List is a way to easily have access to the community members that you interact with the most! X

Trouble creating Extruded Cut

GregFrankland
2-Guest

Trouble creating Extruded Cut

I am having trouble creating and extruded cut. I have been using Pro/E since 1993 or so and consider myself an experienced user of the package and I am getting really frustrated that I am not able to create this cut. I have tried everything I could think of to get it to work with little success.

I have attached a simplified version of the model from WF 5.0. Here is a list of things that I have tried:

cut-fail.jpg

Didn't work:

• Modified accuracy both directions
  • Changed radius of round feature
  • Creating it as a Blind feature
  • One Direction only
  • Open sketch
  • Closed sketch
  • Creating surfaces and merging
  • Different angles
  • Created a Datum plane where I want the angled surface, and tried to solidify using that plane (realizing that it would shave off part of the smaller cylinder)

Worked, but not satisfied:

• removed tangency to round feature in the sketch. Feature generated but is not exactly tangent because of created weak dimension.

I tried to create a projected curve of the angled line and was able to see that the projected curve didn't meet up at the tangency point. I am figuring that this issue has something to do with the fact that I am trying to cut tangent to the radius, but I would think that with all that I have tried it would be able to create the cut. What makes it odd is that removing the tangency constraint in the sketch allows the dimension to shift ~.0003" and it seems to work then, but then I am guessing that the cut doesn't go exactly tangent to the radius and that is why it is working then.

Any thoughts out there?

-Greg