cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - When posting, your subject should be specific and summarize your question. Here are some additional tips on asking a great question. X

Arbortext Newbie - Images

MichelleStokes
5-Regular Member

Arbortext Newbie - Images

Hello all! I am a newbie to the Arbortext/IsoDraw environment, still in training. I have a question about graphics/images and what the industrybest practices are for handling sizing and resolution. Do you create one file and let the publisher DTD handle this or is this handled with style sheets? Or do you create a file for each output (web vs print)and give it an audience attribute? Is vector vs raster prefered? Where can I get information on this subject? This is a big gray area for me and since we are just starting to move to this platform, I want to make sureI'm on the right path. Any advice is appreciated.

3 REPLIES 3

Michelle,

Part of your answer will lie in who you are authoring for. Most of my work has been within the world of the DOD. In that, we've basically provided one graphic for page and electronic display.

Though vector most likely has (and I am not a graphics expert by any means) more advantages, most graphics provided for DOD manuals are raster. The type of graphic will depend on the customer.

However a good place to see what graphics may be provided is to see what graphic types are allowed in the DTD.

As to this being a grey area, it's not really, it is just a very thick fog.

Lynn
---- Michelle Stokes <-> wrote: