cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - When posting, your subject should be specific and summarize your question. Here are some additional tips on asking a great question. X

New to Creo, basic sketcher question

rpreliasco
5-Regular Member

New to Creo, basic sketcher question

Hi,

I'm just starting to learn Creo and have a question about sketcher. When creating a new sketch, is there any way to determine how large your sketch is before finishing it? It is annoying to find your sketch is 100 times larger than you wanted.

7 REPLIES 7

Richard,

It sounds like you may have parts created in different units.

Changing the units for an existing part is done through File > Prepare > Model Properties and in the dialog, under Materials > Units click on change. Once you select the units you want and click Set, you will be asked whether you want to Convert or Interpret. Convert re-scales the model so 1mm becomes 1". Interpret doesn't change the physical size so 25.4mm becomes 1 ".

If you want to change the default units (and drawing standards) there are bat files that will reconfigure Creo globaly for units and drawing standards. They are located here:

C:\Program Files\PTC\Creo 1.0\Common Files\M020\creo_standards

Does this answer your question?

rpreliasco
5-Regular Member
(To:TimBrotherhood)

I didn't mean literally 100 times. I suppose what I am looking for is a real-time readout of sketch dimensions while you are drawing, i.e. line length, circle diameter, etc.

mhoebener
5-Regular Member
(To:rpreliasco)

It is something you end up getting a feel for. But you can always sketch your profile, select all the auto dims created during your sketch. select modify dimensions lock scale...change one dim and the others will conform relatively..

mod dim.PNG

rpreliasco
5-Regular Member
(To:mhoebener)

That helps, thanks!