cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - When posting, your subject should be specific and summarize your question. Here are some additional tips on asking a great question. X

1.7 million files in defaultcachevault, possible solution

ptc-2210193
1-Newbie

1.7 million files in defaultcachevault, possible solution

Let me begin by saying that I have searched for this particular topic, and came up empty handed. I hope someone else has at least thought of this as an option, but as far as I know, we are the first to put into practice.

Ok, so, this is my first post here (of many, I hope). I'm a new Windchill Admin in the Midwest (Quad Cities, IA/IL), and I was presented with a problem that we had from the initial setup of our system. I 'inherited' the system from a sys admin who retired in December 2008, and I ran the system as best I could while I was going to school full time until I graduated in May 2009. We that in November we had 1.4million files in DefaultCacheVault. The way the system was set up, as I understand it, we did not anticipate having so many files in one place. Once it was out of control at 1.2million or so, we were in deep. I ended up adding more folders in June 2009, setting DefaultCacheVault to read only, and limiting files to 50k per folder.

We looked into revaulting the system, and tried it on our original test system. It failed by starting then stopping after moving about 10,000 files

Right now we are looking at running purges, but those have been unable to run on our new test environment, so we proceeded on a different path...