cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

We are happy to announce the new Windchill Customization board! Learn more.

Can the software load images into a workspace from a .csv file or another file format?

ptc-6043518
1-Newbie

Can the software load images into a workspace from a .csv file or another file format?

I am a Business Analyst who works for the MIS Department.

I noticed on of the engineer's struggling. This company has long part numbers and this particular engineer is not a good typist. With that said, we have discovered using wild cards makes retrieving these images into the engineer's workspace a little easier. I was wondering if I provided the engineer a list of item id's in a .csv format or any format your software would use, could he load images into his workspace using this file.

Diane Santini

dsantini@streamflo.com

5 REPLIES 5
sm
1-Newbie
1-Newbie
(To:ptc-6043518)

Hi, can you clarify what type of file is meant by "image" and what type of resulting Windchill object will be created?

Are the images a graphics file (jpg, gif, png, tiff, etc) that will be used to create a Windchill Document?

If they are, you could just use Windchill Desktop Integration to drag-n-drop all the files using Windows Explorer.

-Scott

ptc-6043518
1-Newbie
(To:sm)

They use pdm here so they are bringing in a pdm file from your database. The item exists in the database. Bringing in 100 pdm files from the database into the workspace takes a lot of time even if we use wild cards RG*.

I can provide my engineers with a list of pdm drawings they need for a project in a file. Instead of browsing for each item or groups of items can Windchill look at a file and bring all drawings listed in the file?

Sorry for the language, I am in IT.

Diane

sm
1-Newbie
1-Newbie

Can you tell me what type of files they are? Office Documents, Pictures, CAD or some other type of application data?