cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

We are happy to announce the new Windchill Customization board! Learn more.

Promotion Request Email - not informative

RocketMan
1-Newbie

Promotion Request Email - not informative

Hi All,

I'm pretty new to Windchill but I have scoured the PDM User's Guide, Business Admin Guide, and System Admin Guide, and I cannot find any way to make the email notification for a promotion request more... dynamic. That is, why the heck doesn't the description for the promotion request get sent in the email notification? The generic message entered under the "activity tab" of a workflow process is less than helpful. You would think that the promotion request description would be included in the notification email - this way you can see just from the email where that falls on your priority list.

Is there a method to doing this OOTB? If not, does anyone have any recommendations on where to look to find code that might help?

Thanks in advance!

11 REPLIES 11

Hi, Ben,

The Windchill Customization Guide includes information about tailoring workflow notification. The chapter entitled "Customizing Workflow Administration" covers the following topics:

• Customizing promotion request workflow processes
  • Enhanced promotion request
  • Workflow email notifications

The link I've included is to the 10.1 version of the guide on ptc.com. You can find other release versions there as well, and the customization documentation is also included in the 10.0 and 10.1 versions of the Windchill Help Center.

Please let me know if this documentation is helpful and if you have any feedback.

Jane

Jane Zupfer
VP, Windchill Publications
T 763.957.8299 E -

PTC.com

Jane,

Thanks very much for your response. Is there any form of test environment such that I can modify our current Promotion Approval Request workflow process without disrupting the whole system?