cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

We are happy to announce the new Windchill Customization board! Learn more.

Publish PDF to drawing content as attachement

SV_9649587
5-Regular Member

Publish PDF to drawing content as attachement

Hello Guys,

I have gone through most of the existing posts regarding this topic. Unfortunately I didn't find any answer matching my needs. I am new to windchill customization. We would like to publish only PDF after the drawings are released with promotion request. 

I have managed to publish PDF to a WTdocument with AdditionalFilesPostPublishDelegate. However, I would like to auto publish pdf to drawing content as attachment instead of WTdocument.

I was also wondering how do other companies manage dxf files for laser cutting in windchill? Drawing DXF file created through auto publishing are useless for us as we can't feed that directly to machine. Also dxf scalling would be a issue. 

Attached publish rule xml file.

Thanks in advance

SV

8 REPLIES 8

Hello SV,

We have achieved the same through customization. I will give you some pointers to achieve this. 

Please change publish.afterloadermethod property of wvs.properties to point to your class. 

When you have custom class file , please use the APIs given by PTC to attach pdf to attachment table. 

For DXF file , my colleague can help.  

Thanks and Regards

Ajit

SV_9649587
5-Regular Member
(To:Ajit_Kulkarni)

Hi Ajit,

Thanks for your swift response.

You mean something like below in site.xconf 

<Property name="publish.afterloadermethod" overridable="true" targetFile="codebase/WEB-INF/conf/wvs.properties" value="com.ptc.wvs.util.AfterEDRloader/copyToEPM"/>

Yes, you got that exactly right , but the Java class will be the custom one. I can demo the working if you would like to you.

Regards

Ajit

SV_9649587
5-Regular Member
(To:Ajit_Kulkarni)

Hi Ajit,

Demo would be helpful.

TIA