cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

We are happy to announce the new Windchill Customization board! Learn more.

Searching Using Solr Query Language

ptc-4857215
1-Newbie

Searching Using Solr Query Language

Hello,

The company i work for has recently switched to Windchill 10.0 and I have discovered the advanced search option using solr query language syntax in the keyword field. I have never used solr before and was wondering if there was an easy way to determine the searchable fields. As of now, i have only found two; name: and number:

Searching other fields such as version or context give a bad request error.

Thanks!

4 REPLIES 4

You need to have indexing installed, it is a seperate component. Then you need to index your database. Then you can do keyword searches. For things like Creo objects or Windchill parts, I beleive it reads the header information which includes attributes. For office documents and PDFs that are not vectors, it will index the 1MB of text. There is a whole list of files that it will index.

Version and context should not be keyword searches, but are related to Windchill versioning scheme and the contexts you have created.

Hope this helps.

Thank you, this helped me understand how the solr search is working. Based on your response, it seems that fields such as version, view, last modified, etc. are not indexable and therefore not searchable through keyword search. Essentially I am looking for a way to speed up the searching process. Clicking through the advanced search options and even saved searches are just too time consuming. If solr is not my solution, perhaps it is possible to add additional filter dropdown menus similar to the one for type shown below. If anyone can comment on the possiblity of this that would be great! Thanks!

Capture.JPG