cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Typical workspace behavior after a simple change & save

kjohns101
1-Newbie

Typical workspace behavior after a simple change & save

Redefining the placement of one object in an assy, after a save most released hardware are either modified or show with new status with not eligible for upload and are not out of date. WC won't allow me to syncronize or add/download content from commonspace.Config.pro is set to changed and specified, no datums or layers etc were manipulated.


4 REPLIES 4

Was there a popup message on save that ask you to "continue" on it? Was
this a family table model? Choose Make Read Only next time. Ensure all
items are verified, there are no relations creating parameters not in
the family table and mass properties are run correctly on that hardware.


Try setting the config option save_objects to "changed_and_updated" to see if it yields the desired/expected behavior. You may also want to investigate the propagate_change_to_parents config option in conjunction with the save_objects setting.

From the UsingProeWithWindchillGuide:

• The configuration file option save_objects is set to all. In this case,The configuration file option save_objects is set to all. In this case,
all the objects in Pro/ENGINEER session will be saved to the workspace.
Note: The generally recommended setting for this option is changed.
• The configuration file option save_objects is set to
changed_and_specified and the current object is the top object in an
assembly. In this case, only the changed objects that are in Pro/ENGINEER
memory and are related to a changed assembly are saved to the workspace.
• The configuration file option save_objects is set to
changed_and_updated. In this case, only the changed objects that are in
Pro/ENGINEER memory and have been updated are saved to the workspace.
• A change is made to a dependent object and the configuration file option
propagate_change_to_parents is set to yes.

Or use the "Lock" command from the Workspace (same as "Make Read Only" from Pro/E) prior to even pulling it up in Pro/E - head the problem off at the pass so to speak. Just Lock everything you want to make sure doesn't change - you should get a message about "Read Only object regenerated" or something to that effect.

The WC Add to Workpace defaults to 'Reuse', we change to download to overwrite WS contents. The reuse option is great to have.

I do wish that Add/Update/Syncronize could have been consolidated into one function.

We are playing with the Pro/E config regenerate_read_only_objects so that Pro/E does not even modify them.

Announcements
Learn more about how we are using our browser poll here