cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

We are happy to announce the new Windchill Customization board! Learn more.

Update from Intralink to Windchill PDMLink best practice

MattPat
12-Amethyst

Update from Intralink to Windchill PDMLink best practice

Hello all,

I am quite new to Windchill Administration and now and I am faced with a big task. For my client, I have to update Intralink 11.1 to Windchill PDMLink 11.1. I found a quick guide here but it is not clear to me.

What are the steps of this update? I know I have to make all backups like for a regular system upgrade and then I should run PSI and select Update Existing Installation. 

If someone has the experience and can help me with this update it will be a huge help.

Thanks in advance. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
TomU
23-Emerald IV
(To:MattPat)

I've never done this conversion, but based on the documentation it sounds like you just re-run the installer.

TomU_0-1602769416019.png

https://www.ptc.com/support/-/media/support/refdocs/Windchill_PDMLink/11,-d-,1/WCInstallConfigGuide_173750.pdf?sc_lang=en

(page 70)

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
TomU
23-Emerald IV

I've never done this conversion, but based on the documentation it sounds like you just re-run the installer.

TomU_0-1602769416019.png

https://www.ptc.com/support/-/media/support/refdocs/Windchill_PDMLink/11,-d-,1/WCInstallConfigGuide_173750.pdf?sc_lang=en

(page 70)

MattPat
12-Amethyst
(To:TomU)

Thank you so much. Do you think that after a successful installation it will be working as previous I mean there will be the same users, files etc? 

TomU
23-Emerald IV

I would think so.  As long as you backup the database and the Windchill directory on the server, it should be simple enough to roll back to the pre-upgrade configuration if you don't like something or it didn't work the way you hoped.

MikeLockwood
22-Sapphire I