cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Want the oppurtunity to discuss enhancements to PTC products? Join a working group! X

Windchill 10.2 on Server 2012 R2 - Installation

wsparling
1-Newbie

Windchill 10.2 on Server 2012 R2 - Installation

Hi All,

I'm a complete noob when it comes to setting up a server (I'm a mech eng; not an IT admin!). We just got this machine last week and I've slowly been setting it up for our new office. I've got Windchill PDM Essentials installed and configured on the server, but I can't seem to access Windchill from other machines on the network. The server is definitely visible to the other computers, as I can access shared folders, etc. But if I type the windchill URL into any other machine, it can't find it. I also can't see the license server from the other machines.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
GaryMansell
6-Contributor
(To:wsparling)

Are you using a Web Proxy Server by any chance on your client machines to access the Internet (and hence the Windchill System)? If so, then this can cause the behaviour that you are seeing.

To test if this is the cause, change the Browser Settings to no proxy (you will lose external Internet access for now) and then try and access the Windchill Server again. If this fixes the issue, then the proper fix is to turn switch the proxy back on again in the client machine's browser settings and do one of the followiing (depends on your site's network config):

1. Tick the Bypass Proxy for Local Addresses check box
  2. Configure a bypass proxy host list in the browser settings with both the short and Fully Qualified Domain Name of the Windchill server in it.