cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

We are happy to announce the new Windchill Customization board! Learn more.

Windchill Publishing - March 3, 2016

Darrell
12-Amethyst

Windchill Publishing - March 3, 2016

I've been doing administration for Windchill since 2008 when we implemented 9.0. Although it gets better and better with each new release, Windchill publishing, or WVS as they call it now, still has its problems. It's both amazing and frustrating at the same time - sound familiar Creo parametric users? It's time consuming to setup and tune, and troubleshooting is a difficult task. The word temperamental comes to mind. Currently, we get about a 98% success rate on first time publishing jobs. Most of our publishing is for Creo Parametric content but we have also configured dummy publishing for many wtDocs. After a manual retry, most of the jobs that failed on the first try publish successfully resulting in a 99%+ overall success rate. That sounds very good, but anything less than 100% requires some amount of babysitting. Since downstream processes depend on an up-to-date published representation being available at the right time, failed or delayed jobs can really throw a wrench in the works. I want to share some of my experiences with WVS and possibly help someone else. If not, at least I've documented it for my future reference. We're currently using Windchill version 10.2 with the latest Creo View Adapters, and some of what I discuss below might only apply to that version. It's important to keep your Adapters and CAD application up to date with the latest compatible release on the worker machines. I have found that as PTC releases maintenance updates to both, I almost always get better publishing results.