cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Workspace subfolders in local cache deleted

Level 8

Workspace subfolders in local cache deleted

We face an irregular issue with only one user :

in the local cache folder we should see all lid... and sid... files along with the subfolders per existing workspace. For some reason, one user frequently mentioned that all the saved work in any workspace other than the active workspace were lost. Afte a few occurences we found that overnight, the lid... and sid... files were still there but the actual subfolders who described the workspace content etc... were deleted. This operation left the CAD files that were still there useless however. After activating each workspace, the subfolders were re-created, but the link with the lid... files was not restored, which is infortunate but seems logic since no other system could have had has any information of the new files in that workspace.

We could simulate this situation by manually deleting (or renaming) one of these folders. They are also created when activating the workspace and the locally modified or new files are no longer in the workspace.

What we learned today : the situations seems to be happening only on a Friday...

The option to save and upload automatically is not really helpful since that eliminates our possibility to rename in the modeltree after copying.

We are running Windchill 10.1 M050 (planning to upgrade within 6 months however) and Creo 3.0 M090, but have seen this issue on previous Creo datecodes as well.

I have provided this user with another Windchill account, but the problem still occurs.

1 REPLY 1
Highlighted

Re: Workspace subfolders in local cache deleted

I have written a small program that lists all the users workspace cache folders, to log the occurences of this issue, and it seems it doesn't always occur on Friday, which would have been very odd of course. Frequency seems to be 3 to 4 times per month, on an irregular basis.

Our suspicion that it only occurs with this one user is confirmed, no other user has had this problem...

One more small test revealed that, after manually deleting a workspace in Windchill, the cache folder also gets deleted when starting Creo, without the need to clear the cache. This closely resembles the outcome of the problem, where the cache folders are also removed after starting Creo.